« Back

Congratulations to the Class of 2016!

June 3rd, 2016

The Prize Day ceremony began on Saturday, June 3rd, 2016. On that momentous day, South Kent School graduated their senior and PG students for the 92nd time in the school’s rich history. Head of School Andrew Vadnais recognized each graduate from the Class of 2016 by reading a personal narrative of each graduate's Hero's Journey and then giving them each a handshake and hug. The closeness of everyone on campus was palpable in these moments.

After the reading of the diplomas, the annual awards for the special day were handed out, with the Headmaster's Cup going to Head Prefect Zachary Schullery. See a full list of award winners from Prize Day below.

Prize Day Award Winners

Headmaster's Cup: Zachary Schullery
James S. Johnson Memorial Trophy: Nicholas Valletta
George and Maggie Bartlett Cup: Derek Hamelin
S.S.B. Cup: Bryce Britton Mann
Mary Flemming Brown and Arthur Wood Brown Award: Fei Hu
Paul and Terese Abbott Cup: Loren Christopher Brill
William P. Gillette '29 Trophy: Christopher John Watts
John C. Farr '58 Trophy: Tyler Kevin Miknich

The second half of the Prize Day program took place in St. Michael's Chapel. Each of the graduates received a diploma and a blessing from South Kent Chaplain Reverend Stephen Klots. The festivities concluded with a reception for the parents, friends and students outside in the courtyard.

The 2016 Sixth Form Banquet happened on the Friday before Prize Day. The graduating class, joined by their families, gathered for chapel and dinner one final time as South Kent School students. The night featured the presentation of academic awards as well as the annual student-peer toasts. This treasured South Kent tradition is one of the most anticipated parts of the weekend as it gives each graduating boy the chance to publicly honor and praise one of their brothers on the Hillside. The Senior and PG award winners for the night are listed below.

Senior & PG Award Winners

Bartlett English Prize: Bryce Britton Mann
Language Prize: Liam Delehanty
Humanities Prize: Xingwen Wei
Glennon Creative Writing Prize: Jay Kang
George D. Knopf Science Prize: Bryce Britton Mann
Mathematics Prize: Bryce Britton Mann
Art Prize: Qizheng Duan
Chapel Reading Prize: Zachary Schullery
Music Prize: Jiafeng Deng
AMG Award: Marc Greenlee Cuesta
Scholastic Improvement Award: Nicholas Valletta
Academic Leader of the Sixth Form: Bryce Britton Mann
Sixth Form Call to Service All-Stars: Griffin Joseph Uftring, Zachary Schullery, Viacheslav A Browning, Fei Hu, Alexander Mathew Lindstrom, Kyle Matthew Warren, Derek Hamelin, Jay Kang and Tyler Kevin Miknich
Call to Adventure Award: Zachary Schullery
Call to Explore Award: Adam Henri Peck
CFI Historic Building Technologies Award: Steven Robert Ipri
CFI Historic Building Technologies Award: Andrew Paul Quetell
CFI Prize: Jack O'Brien Hannan
Anatomy and Physiology Award: William Michael Steele

Both events went off without a hitch and sent our talented graduates off on a high note. We will miss all those who are leaving the Hillside but hope the Hillside never leaves the boys. We look forward to seeing our graduating seniors come back as alumni soon!

Click HERE to see all our pictures from the Graduate Banquet

Click HERE to see our pictures from Prize Day

Add a Comment